About me

I was born in 1967 and can rather be classified under the heading "modern nomad". This began with my birth - I was born as a Swiss in Berlin - and continues in my life until today. I was never longer than 4 years in one place, often only 1-2 years. 

Equality and human rights are central themes in my life. So are the rights of women in particular. Already at a young age, I was committed and rebelled against injustice. Later, as a master of home economics, special education teacher, and lecturer, I taught and trained young women and men with special needs. Among them were traumatized war refugees from Ukraine or Syria, but also other people with or without a migration background from socially problematic families (alcohol, drugs, abuse) or with physical and/or mental disabilities. It was and is always important to me to leave people standing as they are. Every person is good and valuable. Of course, there are limits to how I can be treated, but I try not to judge from the outset if someone is entrusted to me just because they have been in prison, for example, or have a different religion or cultural background.

For twenty years I have been writing books - books for education, together with a large publishing house, travel guides, non-fiction, short stories, narratives. All my works are about women's rights and equality in general. For example, in my stories about China, where I lived twenty years ago, the one-child policy was still an issue. Many families killed their newborn girl. The theme of (state) arbitrariness also accompanies the individual stories.

My three guidebooks are basically about the ability to take one's life into one's own hands, and my novel "Die Zifferblattmalerin", which has also been available in English since June (Glowing Times), is about the history of the Radium Girls in the USA in the 1920s and their merit for today's ability to sue the employer. The novel also tells about the realities of that time and the problems that women still had.

But I also like to try out new things; I prefer to deal with historical topics. For my research I read a lot, travel to other countries to learn more, and of course, I use the internet. So it's never just about telling stories, but novels tell of long-forgotten happenings that I embed in a novel world.

At the moment I enjoy the digital world, where I can study at universities, whatever I want to do. The last thing I did was to study "International Women's Health and Human Rights" at Standford University, epidemiology, basic public health science (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), and the basics of migration (OTH Regensburg). Now I continue to study Chinese at Beijing University.

Singapore
Füssen Allgäu
Hotel Köln
Hamburg Harburg
Arbeitsplatz Braunschweig
Rotterdam Hotel
Rotterdam Werft
Schreibplatz Wiesbaden
Allgäu
Singapore Wohnung
Arbeitsplatz Berlin
Büro Peking
Büro Tower Singapur
Schreibplatz am Balkon
Drag the pictures from my past work-places with a klick on it.